Tuskegee lands six on preseason SIAC football team


ATLANTA, Ga.  - The Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference recently announced its 2011 SIAC Preseason Football All-Conference Team and Predicted Order of Finish as voted by the SIAC Football Coaches Association.  Leading the selection for the Golden Tigers on the first team was senior linebacker Isaiah Person of Auburn. 

In 2010, Person tallied 78 tackles with five resulting in losses.  He broke up four passes and recovered one fumble.  

The Golden Tigers had five players chosen on the second team.  Senior wide receiver Wayne Williams of Milledgeville, Ga., and senior offensive lineman Ryan Jackson of Albany, Ga., were selected to the offense, and senior defensive back Kenneth Baker to the defense.

Sophomore punter Gene Stewart Moody of Greenville and junior place-kicker Eduardo Murillo of Montgomery were special teams picks on the second unit. 
The conference will feature two divisions this season, with the East and West winners meeting in a championship game on Nov. 12.
Tuskegee is scheduled to play its four west division rivals as indicated below and will face Fort Valley State, Clark Atlanta and Morehouse from the east in a 7-game required conference schedule.

Tuskegee, under the direction of sixth-year head coach Willie Slater, was picked to finish first among five teams in the Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference’s West Division.  Albany State was picked to win the SIAC East Division and repeat as overall SIAC champions.

2011 Predicted Order of Finish 

East Division
1. Albany State
Fort Valley State
3. Morehouse
Clark Atlanta
5. Benedict 

West Division
1. Tuskegee
2. Miles
Kentucky State
4. Stillman
5. Lane 

SIAC Champion:
Albany State


Back to News Listing