Slater, Washington honored by Pigskin Club of Washington


Willie Slater, the 2012 SIAC Coach of the Year, and Derrick Washington, the 2012 SIAC Player of the Year, were in Washington, D.C. Friday night to pick up the Charles B. Fisher and Oliver M. Thompson awards for their respective work in helping Tuskegee Football earn a 10-2 record last season while claiming Tuskegee University’s 26th outright SIAC Championship.

Slater was appointed head football coach at Tuskegee University on January 17, 2006 and has propelled the Tuskegee Golden Tigers to a 65-15 record his first seven years, winning five SIAC titles and a black college national crown (2007, undefeated, 12-0).

The Coffeeville, Ala., native has 34 seasons of coaching experience, including 29 years at the collegiate level; 17 were as an offensive coordinator. He has coached at Temple University, Jacksonville State University, the University of North Alabama, the University of West Alabama, and Troy University. Coach Slater is a five-time NCAA Division II National Assistant Coach of the Year; he has five Division II national championship rings.

Slater joined the Tuskegee staff after having served as the offensive coordinator at Temple under Bill Wallace in 2005 and Jacksonville State under Jack Crowe from 2000 to 2003. JSU won the Ohio Valley Conference title with a 7-1 (8-4 overall) record in 2003. Prior to his stay with the Gamecocks, he worked as offensive coordinator at North Alabama for eight years (1992-1999), including six seasons under Wallace (1992-1997). During his stay in Florence, Ala., the Lions qualified for the NCAA playoffs five times and won three consecutive national championships from 1993-95. Slater was named the Division II National Assistant Coach of the Year in each of UNA’s title seasons. In 1993, North Alabama had the country’s top rushing offense, gaining 317.5 yards per contest.

Slater previously earned the Charles B. Fisher award once before from the Pigskin Club of Washington, in 2007.

Derrick Washington averaged 7.8 yards per carry, which was second in NCAA Division II amongst all tailbacks with at least 75 carries on the season. He rushed for 1,729 yards off of 214 carries, which places him second all-time on TU’s single-season rushing list.

Washington was the primary rusher as Tuskegee set an all-time single-game school rushing record for a team against Fort Valley State on Sept. 29, with 441 yards rushing for the team. The 441 team rushing yards (with Washington responsible for 218 of those yards) accounted for most of the 671 offensive yards for the game, which is the second highest single-game offensive yardage total in school history. He also threw his only touchdown pass of the season, a 38-yard touchdown in the first game against the Wildcats.

That first game against FVSU is one of three 200-yard rushing games that Washington has had this season. In the SIAC Championship Game played Nov. 10, a rematch of the game played Sept. 29 against Fort Valley State, Washington ran for a season-high 229 yards on just 16 carries, averaging 14 yards per carry. In addition to Washington’s two rushing touchdowns against the Wildcats to lock up the conference title, he also had 107 receiving yards to go with a third touchdown reception.

One week earlier, Washington rushed for 208 yards off of 22 carries to help the Golden Tigers defeat the 2011 SIAC Champion Miles College Golden Bears. The victory clinched the SIAC West, which allowed TU to play Fort Valley State in the rematch for the conference title in Atlanta. Washington also has rushed for over 100 yards three times this season. Those efforts were a 155-yard, two TD performance against Johnson C. Smith, a 114-yard effort against Kentucky State at Tuskegee’s Homecoming game, and a 169-yard, two TD game on the road against Clark Atlanta University.

The Golden Tigers wrapped up the season by defeating archrival Alabama State University in the 89th Annual Turkey Day Classic. Washington had a total of 186 all-purpose yards, including 97 yards rushing off of 22 carries, and a 57-yard pass. A member of the 2012 Southern Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SIAC) Champions, Derrick Washington was named as the SIAC Player of the Year, SIAC Offensive Player of the Year and Finalist for the Harlon Hill Trophy – NCAA Division II Player of the Year.

© 2013 Tuskegee University

Back to News Listing