Lady Golden Tigers win SIAC Tennis Championship


ATLANTA, Ga. – The Tuskegee University Lady Golden Tigers won their 13th SIAC Tennis Championship, defeating the Lady Wildcats of Fort Valley State University in the championship match Saturday in Atlanta, Ga.

Trailing 2-1 after doubles play, Tuskegee won four of the six singles matches against Fort Valley State to take the women's title.

FVSU won the first doubles match as Chade Scott and Yonelle Aromin defeated Shaneka Knight Jermaine Scott, 8-6.  The Lady Wildcats also won the second doubles as Gabriella Louis and Roberta Robinson defeated Sunny Willoughby and Cheryl Dixon, 8-6. 

The duo of Christa Ratcliffe and Jessica McGee gave Tuskegee its only doubles win with an 8-5 victory over FVSU’s Latesha Taylor and Markeisha Washington.

In singles action, Tuskegee won the first three matches Knight beat Robinson (6-0, 6-0); Willoughby defeated Louis (6-4, 6-1); and Jermaine Scott edged Chade’ Scott (6-3, 6-2).  FVSU claimed the fourth and fifth singles matches as Aromin defeated Dixon (6-2, 6-1) and Taylor downed McGee (6-0, 6-3). 

The Lady Golden Tigers (12-13), the SIAC’s top women’s academic tennis team, were crowned champions when Christa Ratcliff defeated FVSU’s Markeisha Washington in the final singles match (6-0, 6-0).

Tuskegee blanked LeMoyne-Owen 5-0 in the quarterfinals and Benedict 5-0 in the semifinals, en route to the championship match.

2012 SIAC Women’s Tennis All-Tournament Team

Shaneka Knight, Tuskegee University
Jazmine Scott, Tuskegee University
Elizabeth Perez, Stillman College
Glory Zhou; Benedict College
Chade’ Scott, Fort Valley State University
Gabriella Louis, Fort Valley State University

Christa Ratcliff & Jessica McGee, Tuskegee University
Glory Zhou & Jessica Carswell, Benedict College
Roberta Robinson & Gabrielle Louis, Fort Valley State University

Tournament MVP:
Shaneka Knight, Tuskegee University
Most Outstanding Coach: Ernest Grant, Tuskegee University
3rd Place:
Benedict College

Runner-Up: Fort Valley State University
2012 SIAC Champions: Tuskegee University

Back to News Listing