Excellence in academics and athletics reception


TUSKEGEE, Ala. – The Athletic Department held its first “Excellence in Athletics and Academics” reception for all sports, honoring student-athletes who earned 3.0 grade point averages or better for the 2010-2011 Fall Semester.

The program was held on Jan. 26, 2011 in the Kellogg Conference Center.  Dr. Luther Williams, Provost, Dr. Cynthia Sellers, Vice President for Student Affairs, and James Holly, Jr., Student Athlete Advisory Committee President, gave greetings. 

Savitri Reed-Miles, Academic Counselor/Student-Athlete Advisor, honoring their achievement, presented the student athletes with certificates. Alvin R. Jackson, Director of Athletics, made remarks.


Philander Browder, Brian Cobb, Reginald Davis, Dominique Dirden, Corey Delaney, Mark Hughes, Bentavious Miller, Gene Stewart Moody, Jr., Eduardo Murillo, Isaiah Persons, Kevin Phinazee, Jr., Dominique Thornton, Adontavious Turner, Darold Whitfield, Thomas Wilder, Wayne Williams

Men’s Track & Field:
Damian Barnes, Bernard Britton, James Edmond, III, Jerald Fayorsey, Marcus Fore, James Holly, Jr., Marquis Lopez, Blair Major, Kevin Scruggs, Jeremy Shipp

Men’s Cross Country:
Jonathan Overy,  Jeremiah Wilson

Women’s Cross Country and Track & Field:
Ashley Barboza, Alicia Champion, Jac’Quese Hargrove, Angel Laws, Terresa Smith, Jasmin Solomon, Blake Terry

Christian Blackledge, Trashawn Brent, Susan George, Denavia Harrison, Christian Pleasant, Tiaira Robinson, Alysia Turner, Cheyanne Williams

Jonathan Allen, Bryant Chambliss, Randell Jones, Samuel Rodney, Alvin White

Men’s Tennis:
David Billingslea, David Mohammed

Women’s Tennis:
Angela Dixon, Khali Jones, Shaneka Knight, Jessica McGee, Jazmine Scott, Sunny Willoughby

Women’s Basketball:
Jennifer Anoka, Keyonnia Cook, Quinetta Forby, Tequila Martin, Briana Payne, Alannah Vincent, Natasha Williams

Ke’uhna Brent, Tameria Brown, Alexis Griffin, Jamie Keith, Kaneesha Knight, Lisa Northcut, Kristen O’Neal, Ashia Spence, Jennifer Taylor

Men’s Basketball:
Stephen Hinton, Moriah Johnson, Julius Taylor, Graham Olantunji, Patrick Powell, William Pride, Aaron Ragsdale, Jarvis Rooks, Lucious Winston

Iyabo Johnson, James Mungin, Mandy Shelby.

Pictured from left to right:  Student-Athlete Advisory Committee members, Alvin R. Jackson, Jerald Fayorsey, Bryant Chambliss, Jenifer Anoka, James Holly Jr., Thomas Wilder, Moriah Johnson, Jamie Keith, Blake Terry, Jeremy Shipp, Teressa Smith, Sunny Willoughby and Savitri Reed-Miles.


Back to News Listing